Democrats call on Jeff Sessions to resign

"Sessions is not fit to serve as the top law-enforcement officer of our country and must resign."


36 Congressional Democrats are calling for the immediate resignation of President Trump’s Attorney General, Jeff Sessions. The demands come after it was revealed that Sessions lied under oath during his testimony to the U.S. Senate. During his testimony, Sessions claimed that he had not met with Russian representatives during the 2016 election season. However, it has been revealed, and Sessions has confirmed, that he met with Russia’s ambassador to Washington, Sergey Kislyak, two separate times.

As House Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi said in a statement, “Now, after lying under oath to Congress about his own communications with the Russians, the attorney general must resign. Sessions is not fit to serve as the top law-enforcement officer of our country and must resign. There must be an independent, bipartisan, outside commission to investigate the Trump political, personal, and financial connections to the Russians.”

So far it is only Democrats that are calling for Sessions’ resignation. Republicans are urging Sessions to recuse himself from the investigation into contact between the Trump campaign and Russia.

You can see the Democrats call for Sessions’ resignation in their own words below:

House Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi (D-CA):

Rep. Nanette Barragán (D-CA):

Rep. Julia Brownley (D-CA):

Rep. Judy Chu (D-CA):

Rep. Ro Khanna (D-CA):

Rep. Barbara Lee (D-CA):

Rep. Ted Lieu (D-CA):

Rep. Eric Swalwell (D-CA):

Rep. Mark Takano (D-CA):

Sen. Ed Markey (D-MA):

Sen. Elizabeth Warren (D-MA):

Rep. Mike Capuano (D-MA):

Rep. Katherine Clark (D-MA):

Rep. Jim McGovern (D-MA):

Sen. Claire McCaskill (D-MO):

Rep. Don Beyer (D-VA):

Rep. Earl Blumenauer (D-OR):

Rep. David Cicilline (D-RI):

Rep. Joe Crowley (D-NY):

Sen. Chuck Schumer (D-NY):

Rep. Jerry Nadler (D-NY):

Rep. Adriano Espaillat (D-NY):

Rep. Elijiah Cummings (D-MD):

Rep. Ruben Gallego (D-TX):

Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee (D-TX):

Rep. Pramila Jayapal (D-WA):

Rep. Ruben Kihuen (D-NV):

Rep. Dan Kildee (D-MI):

Rep. Frank Pallone (D-NJ):

Rep. Donald Payne Jr. (D-NJ):

Rep. Bonnie Watson Coleman (D-NJ):

Rep. Chellie Pingree (D-ME):

Rep. Mark Pocan (D-WI):

Rep. Jamie Raskin (D-MD):

Rep. Tim Ryan (D-OH):

Rep. Jan Schakowsky (D-IL):


If you liked this article, please donate $5 to keep NationofChange online through November.